This elegant Edwardian building is a hidden gem in the heart of Nelson. Built as Nelson Library in 1906, it became the offices for the newly formed Pendle Council in 1974.
It had been empty for many years and PEARL, took on the challenge of restoring the building to its former glory.
The painstaking work involved restoring many original features including hand-crafted and polished oak doors and stunning Edwardian marble mosaic floors. The restoration of the beautiful fruit moulding plasterwork on the ceilings alone took 22 weeks!
It took almost a year to restore the building to its former glory and PEARL celebrated the restoration with a public open day. The event included guided tours and talks about the building’s fascinating history. True stories included how books withdrawn from circulation were sent to our troops at the front during the First World War and how the Booth Street library had to close during the influenza outbreak in 1918.
The building was sold in 2016 for use as a Law and Solicitor’s practice.